How Marketing Affects the Computer Science Field

Last night I went to a professional panel. There were some interesting people there like an Actor from The Color Purple and another actor from Nancy Grace. There was also a lady who owns a local news channel. As they spoke I was sitting there wondering why am I here with me majoring in Computer Science. Then the last two people spoke, there was a dark skinned man and a fairly large women sitting at the end of the table. They were from Microsoft. Finally I thought to myself something that interested me. The woman started talking and she was saying her job title was Microsoft Global Tech Accounting. I was thinking to myself what does that have to do with programming. She continued saying when she did an internship with Microsoft she realized that programming was not for her. Then these key words came out of her mouth Microsoft is not only about Programming and Computers.  Then the man started talking he first stated he was a Delivery manager. With this disappointing look I had on my face I thought to myself there people aren’t going to help me. Then he said he is great with relationships. He communicate between businesses because of his trump card, communication. He said he help market Microsoft with other businesses. After the program I asked him about his job and we exchanged numbers  and started networking with each other. He asked me and a few other Computer Science majors to go out to eat one day next week. Microsoft have competitors and they have to stay updated with what is going on in the world so they can make the best sales. Microsoft is in competition with Sony with their X box 1 and Sony’s PlayStation 4.   

Leave a comment